Photo credit: Bignell Watkins Hasser Architects


Bignell Watkins Hasser Architects designed the innovative center that opened in Brambleton in December 2014.

Brambleton Public Safety Center, located in Ashburn, was among the top winners in Firehouse Magazine’s second annual Station Design Awards program, which recognizes outstanding architecture and design from fire departments nationwide.

Gold, Silver and Bronze awards were distributed across five categories: Career departments, Satellite stations, Volunteer/Combination departments, Shared facilities and Renovated fire stations.

Brambleton Public Safety Center won the Bronze Award for Shared Facilities Design. Annapolis, MD-based Bignell Watkins Hasser Architects designed the state-of-the-art facility.

Located at 23675 Belmont Ridge Road in Ashburn, the Brambleton Public Safety Center opened in December 2014. It houses an engine company, advanced-life support ambulance and other essential emergency response units.

Reston-based LeMay Erickson Willcox Architects designed the other two regional firehouses that won awards. The Gold Award for Renovated Fire Station was awarded to the Middleburg Volunteer Fire Department in Middleburg. Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Station No. 10, located in Falls Church, received the Silver Award in the Volunteer/Combination Fire Station Design.

All participating entries will be published in the November issue of Firehouse Magazine and online within the Stations section on

“The November issue represents a unique resource from which fire departments can learn best practices and see real-world applications of station designs,” stated Greg Toritto, Group Publisher, Firehouse.

Winners were selected by a panel of five judges, including two fire chiefs, two architects and one fire protection engineer/architect with expertise in fire station designs, according to Firehouse Magazine.